Plastic Rice?

Really? There is plastic rice being sold in the Chinese town of Taiyuan, in Shaanxi province. This “rice” is made of potatoes, sweet potatoes and plastic resins.

Sources include:
http://www.rawstory.com/rs/2011/02/08/report-china-fake-rice-plastic/

http://veryvietnam.com/2011-01-22/china-makes-fake-rice-from-plastic-vietnam-reacts/

http://www.naturalnews.com/031344_plastic_rice.html#ixzz1DwxwA8ac

Very Vietnam, an online publication states: “A Chinese Restaurant Association official said that eating three bowls of this fake rice would be like eating one plastic bag. Due to the seriousness of the matter, he added that there would be an investigation of factories alleged to be producing the rice. Meanwhile, the low cost of the fake rice is allowing wholesalers to make large profits.”

So, what is the moral of this story? Profits are more important than human health? It would seem so, and that seems to be a general theme around most of the world. Cheap outweighs everything including health.

Unfortunately, there are many people driving this bus. From the manufacturers to the consumers. Consumers want low cost, and manufacturers want high profits. The end result is that the manufacturer makes the goods as cheaply as possible so they get maximum profits, and it’s cheap enough that customers will continue to buy it. Of course, the manufacturer doesn’t tell you *how* they managed to make it so cheaply.

Cheap often means several things, like plastic food made by slave labor. I cannot in good conscience buy the cheapest thing. I always look for good value, but that value must mean whole food, safe products for my family, and as often as possible, a living wage for those who produced the goods I purchase.

About katiekieffer

Hi! I'm Katie Kieffer. I juggle a lot of things. Building my own intuitive healing practice, managing the daily needs of two homeschooling teens, 5 cats, 2 dogs and a husband, and myself. Life is messy, and while I love doing the intuitive and healing work I do, my life and relationships aren't perfect. They are better than they were a few years ago, especially with my children. I'm happy for the improvement and continue working on myself to make my own life better - and it's working, for the most part :) Wanna know more? Check out my blog and website: awakentheinnerlight.com
This entry was posted in Food Related and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

